Frank Haith named Coach of the Year

11:33 AM, Mar 19, 2012   |    comments
Head coach Frank Haith of the Missouri Tigers looks on late in the second half against the Norfolk State Spartans. (Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Columbia, MO (KSDK) - Despite an early exit from the 2012 NCAA Tournament, the University of Missouri men's basketball team recorded one of the most successful years in school history under Frank Haith's leadership.

Coach Haith has been named the recipient of the 2011-12 Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award, presented the nation's best coach, by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Under Haith, Mizzou went 30-5 overall, won a school-record 14 Big 12 games, and captured the school's second Big 12 Tournament Championship.

Haith becomes just the third Mizzou coach to receive coach of the year honors. Norm Stewart was named coach of the year in 1982 and 1994, by UPI and AP, respectively. The National Association of Basketball Coaches honored Mike Anderson for 2009.

The Henry Iba Award, named in honor of the Oklahoma State coach who won 665 games and two national titles in 36 seasons, is voted on by all USBWA members at the conclusion of the regular season.

The USBWA has presented a National Coach of the Year Award every year since the 1958-59 season.


Most Watched Videos