Steven Jackson, Janoris Jenkins, Danny Amendola win Rams team awards

2:39 PM, Dec 31, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ST. LOUIS, Mo. (KSDK) - St. Louis Rams running back Steven Jackson received 3 honors as the team announced its 2012 season awards.

Jackson was named the Rams' Most Valuable Player (Daniel F. Reeves Memorial Award), recipient of the Carl Ekern Spirit of the Game Award, and recognized as the club's Walter Payton Man of the Year for his commitment to community service.

The Walter Payton Man of the Year honors the player who's off the field activities do the most good. Each team elects one player as a finalist. A panel of judges, including NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell and former players, picks the winner out of the 32 finalists.

Steven Jackson hosts a number of activities and events through his foundation, including a free youth football camp, celebrity golf tournament, charity auction and fashion show, Back-to-School n' Class, and the Beautifully Blessed Boys and Men Thanksgiving Dinner with the Covenant House in St. Louis. He also donates $1,000 to the Steven Jackson Foundation for every touchdown he scores during the season.

Rookie Janoris Jenkins won the team's Carroll Rosenbloom Memorial Award for his record-setting season. Jenkins tied an NFL rookie record with three interceptions returned for touchdowns. His four defensive touchdowns (3 INTs, 1 fumble recovery) led the NFL this season.

Wide receiver Danny Amendola won the Ed Block Courage Award, an honor given to a player who overcame some form of adversity in the year, after missing 15 games in 2011. Amendola caught a team best 63 passes in the 2012 season.


Most Watched Videos